Skip to content

Video: How I knit

January 12, 2013

My mom was curious about how I knit and I’m never one to disappoint.

How do you knit?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2013 12:48 pm

    I knit in the same way you do. I think I’m pretty unusual in the UK. I did a whole post about it with links to various tutorials about knitting styles and why I chose to knit in the way I do. Here’s the link to the post if you are interested. http://www.stitchedtogether.co.uk/2012/11/continental-and-combination-or-combined.html

  2. January 12, 2013 3:46 pm

    This is the way I knit too and I guess it is my mother who taught me that. I’m living in Sweden but I have seen people knitting in different ways even here.

    I found your blog last week, and I like it 🙂

  3. January 12, 2013 7:01 pm

    I knit the same as you, but my purls are reversed, more or less. It is interesting to see all the different styles!

  4. January 13, 2013 3:54 am

    I think what you do is combined, right? I do that about 90% of the time, and the rest I go continental. I’m more likely to do the latter if I knit lacey stuff because I always untwist stitches before doing decreases (even though I know how to do them with twisted stitches), but generally I am a combined knitting sort of girl. I learned in second grade, and never really unlearned it, which is why when I took up knitting again as a twenty-ish year old, that’s where I ended up. Everyone else (I was in the US at the time) seemed to do English, so I was the ‘weird’ one.

    I do get a strange sort of satisfaction from doing English AND continental when I do colour work, though. One colour in each hand just makes me feel so fancy.

  5. January 13, 2013 3:55 am

    (I also want a knit blog now. I haven’t had one in way too long.)

  6. January 13, 2013 8:13 pm

    I knit continental style except that my purls are reversed from the way you do them. I originally learned the English way from a book. Then I watched an Elizabeth Zimmermann DVD where she held the yarn in her left hand and I switched.

    I don’t always do colorwork, but when I do I hold both yarns in my left hand. 🙂

Comments:

