Skip to content

Christmas roundup

December 27, 2012

Did I say in that video that the Ishbel was going to be my holiday and travel knitting? Hah! I finished it in two days. Two days. Don’t quite know what got into me.

Ishbel collage

So I had to bring something else to Cambridge, since I was still waiting for the missing Book River Shawl yarn — which arrived at the post office just in time for me not to have time to go get it before we had to leave. Bah.

I’ve been seeing this sock, called “Sylta”, popping up over and over on a Swedish facebook group for a while and finally decided I had to try it. I used the same Novita 7 Veljestä yarn as my rainbow socks, but in a red-pink-purple-orangey colorway. My mom saw that scrunchy first leg appearing and said she’d quite like leg warmers like that, and who am I to say no to, er, not having to actually turn a heel?

Leg warmers

It’s a really simple pattern and was great for evening movie watching; all in all I think it took four or five days of intermittent knitting, and about 130 grams of the yarn.

But now I’m home and back to my red shawl — I’m really hoping to bind off before the New Year, so I’ll have a fresh start and one more finished project to add to my total for the year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2012 1:04 am

    I like the idea of that pattern much better for legwarmers then socks- they’re such a statement piece!

    • December 28, 2012 11:28 pm

      I kind of want to make a pair for myself. But probably in another color.

  2. December 28, 2012 10:22 am

    Two days? Goodness, that is amazing! That would take me ten times longer!

  3. December 29, 2012 5:47 pm

    Wow, 2 days! I think my wrists would give out. Might be worth it though…

Comments:

