Skip to content

Finally!

September 17, 2012

Seriously, baby knits are awesome. You get to finish a whole complete actual item, that’s not just a square, in maybe just a couple of days! (Unless, er, you take three weeks to actually sew on some buttons, because you hate sewing on buttons. For instance.) Also, you’re giving adorable little items to someone who is already hormonal and likely to be very touched and happy at your offerings.

If that means that you have to wait to blog them until you can deliver the goods, so be it.

It’s the Garter yoke baby cardi, with some modifications, in that delicious Bugga, and a pair of Cozy little toes in what remained of the All Your Base I used for my Foothills. Both are superwash yarns, and very wonderfully squishy.

The mystery baby is due on my birthday, but we’ll see when it deigns to descend. Both the cardigan and socks are probably quite a ways off, size-wise, but warm socks are always good, and the cardigan should be useful in all sorts of weather.

Frame of reference is funny, though — I was worried that the teeny tiny socks wouldn’t fit even on a newborn, and then someone told me that they were probably right for the half-year mark. It’s been a while since I hung out with babies, what can I say.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. caityrosey permalink
    September 17, 2012 8:46 pm

    It all looks like doll clothes doesn’t it? I need to get a move on making some baby socks. It’s good to have a reminder of just how small it needs to be before I start.

  2. September 19, 2012 12:36 am

    I do love the yarn in that sweater. Wish I had some babies to knit for!

Comments:

