Skip to content

Knot so great

August 22, 2012

Here’s a thought: In a self-striping yarn with long, slow, subtle color changes, maybe don’t do this.

What makes it even better is there was another knot, not that much earlier, where it instead changed from dark to turquoise much too quickly, leading to this wonderful non-gradation.

It would almost have been better if they’d just taken out the turquoise altogether and tie the two dark ends together. (Except then I would have been cranky about losing a few yards and grams of yarn, I’m sure.)

Grumble.

(OK, this isn’t the worst thing to happen to someone ever. It’s not even the worst thing to happen to me while I was holding yarn. It’s possible I need to be going to bed. I reserve the right to be cranky because I had to give blood for some tests and I got all woozy and now I have a big weird bruise on top of my arm — in a weird spot because I have crappy veins. GRUMBLE.)

(Um, goodnight.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 3:24 am

    I get so annoyed when I’m halfway through a row and find a knot where the yarn perhaps broke and they tied it together. Grrrrrr.

  2. August 24, 2012 12:44 am

    Aw, I know that point. A nightcap and bedtime usually makes it all better. I do find myself avoiding variegated yarns more and more because of the knot issue though.

  3. August 25, 2012 1:21 pm

    Bah! Yarn should never arrive with a knot in – ever! Drives me mad, that.

Comments:

