Skip to content

Craft night: Sushi and LEDs

August 7, 2012

Torrential rain meant a smaller turnout last night, but we still had fun. Some of what went on:

I experimented with making sushi ends for a DPN cover.

The “nori” makes a hollow tube that will house the DPNs; tomorrow I’m putting in the elastic to hold the thing together. This may be an ongoing experiment.

I also worked on the never-ending bottom ruffle on my Foothills shawl.

For a while there I was all yay, this is a fast knit and then I discovered that the edging is 24 rows of slowly increasing ruffle, leaving you with almost 700 stitches to bind off. Oof.

P and friend played with Raspberry Pi and made blinky things.

Elisabet worked on a shawl with some lovely Malabrigo sock .

It was really nice to sit there and work and talk a little, be quiet, talk a little, and listen to the heavy drumming of the rain outside.

Of course, it was nicer knowing that I didn’t have to go out in it to get home…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 9:38 pm

    Ruffles kill me. It has to be a really amazing pattern to make me willing to tolerate knitting a ruffle. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    • August 7, 2012 10:37 pm

      I’ll admit that it’s a fairly mild ruffle, but yes.

      Not that far to go, now.

Comments:

