Skip to content

WIP Wednesday

July 18, 2012

The aforepromised cardigan! (It’s hard to think of a way to display a cardigan-in-progress.)

The yarn is Hester Prynne by Handsome Fibers, in the color Madame X — I discovered this yarn has been stashed only six times on Ravelry, two of which is me in two different colors, which seems odd because it’s a good yarn. Nice colors, nice to work with, feels really soft.

Like I said, I deviated from the pattern, and I can’t quite decide what to do with the edging. Probably not ribbing, so garter? Seed? Something else?

As also promised, P snapped some pictures of me working on it. First on the plane:

And then when we met some friends at the Ballast Point Brewery’s tasting room. I’m not big on beer, and I was driving, so I brought the cardigan along to entertain myself while they were trying chili lime lagers and Indian-spicy dark stuff. At that point, I’d knitted so much that I had to hold the whole thing sort of under my arm like a bagpipe to keep it from stretching.

To be honest, I’m kind of amazed that I’m actually getting somewhere on this — for a while, it felt like I was just knitting and knitting and knitting and nothing was happening. The perils of laceweight stockinette stitch, I guess. I told myself I wouldn’t do it again any time soon, but now I kind of want to make a loose drapey sweater with the other batch of the same yarn. Masochist, I tell ya.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 12:11 pm

    It’s a lovely colour. Also, I love your cookie monster t-shirt!

  2. July 18, 2012 12:44 pm

    laceweight cardigan? *swoons* I need that in my life like I need a hole in the head. Wait, no, the opposite of that. ๐Ÿ˜€

    That is indeed gorgeous yarn. Beautiful colour. Awesome work!

  3. July 18, 2012 3:42 pm

    I have a book about edgings only. Want to borrow? (Though, it is slightly suicidal offering up when I am going to the states in less than ten days, have to find time – or you would have to wait – but offer still valid)

    • July 27, 2012 11:19 am

      I forgot to answer — I’ve done the bottoms and sleeves, but I’d love to borrow that book some other time!

  4. July 19, 2012 10:08 pm

    Pretty! I know exactly what you mean about the endless stocking stitch. It takes a certain amount of endurance (or a really good movie) to get through it. It’s going to be worth it though!

  5. July 26, 2012 7:01 pm

    Good luck with the endless edging options. That yarn color is beautiful.
    I love seeing you knitting with a beer nearby. It is ok that you don’t like beer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. If you ever got the notion « Procraftinator

Comments:

