Skip to content

Yarn bowl and sundry

June 14, 2012

I got my finished glazed stuff back! I made a yarn bowl:

What’s that you say? That’s not a yarn bowl? Yarn bowls have those little cutouts for the yarn to run through? Ah, but this is a different kind of yarn bowl.

See?

I have several regular bowls that I’ve made before, that I just use to plonk my yarn in. With center-pull cakes, they stay put pretty well. But I like to keep row counters with their respective projects, so I don’t get confused, and they always wind up under the yarn. So I had the idea to make a yarn bowl with a little separate inset bowl for the row counter — and measuring tape and whatnot, if I need it. I’m really happy with how it came out.

I planned on making two of them, but the second little inner-bowl came out a bit big, so I just turned it into an independent chubby little cauldron-thingy.

Among other things, I also made this mug that I really like.

I made a little milk jug with a braided handle a while ago, and wanted to try it again. That braid was made with wider, cut strips, and looked almost like leather. I wanted this one thinner and softer, so these are rolled out and braided. (This is one of many examples of ideas I get that make my pottery teacher look at me and shake her head. With a smile, but still.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2012 6:29 pm

    Love the braided handle!

  2. June 18, 2012 10:28 pm

    Gorgeous yarn bowl! That looks like a skein of Sublime. Mmmmm.

    • June 24, 2012 6:58 pm

      Thank you! It’s Debbie Bliss Rialto, and it’s so soft!

Comments:

