Skip to content

I totally do

June 11, 2012

Today is our first wedding anniversary. Paper or cotton, depending on whose list you follow. Either way, it’s been a good year. Still haven’t quite gotten used to the h-word and w-word. They sound funny.

Of course, our wedding had some yarny touches. Like many others, I knitted my wedding shawl. It was my first lace project, and I loved the way it came out (though I’ll admit to quite a bit of foul language along the way.)

It’s the Luna Moth shawl, in Schachenmayr nomotta Yipianqing Bamboo. Just recently, the designer contacted me to ask if she could use this picture as one of the featured photos on the Ravelry pattern page. I may have squealed and flapped my hands in excitement.

I also made my bouquet, with some help from crafty friends. It was really nice to have people sort of there by proxy, plus it meant I could hang on to it without having to concern myself with drying flowers. I didn’t toss it, though, that could have been dangerous — especially since the “stems” were a mix of pipe cleaners and thrifted metal DPNs.

We actually didn’t have a very DIY wedding, paradoxically because we both like crafts — we realized there was a good chance we’d burn out and hate everything.

It was pretty low-key in general. I think we were lucky that there was pretty much no drama of any kind, just a small group of people we like who were very happy for us. Lots of love and honking ferryboats and stuff.

OK, I lie about the crafts. We had video game characters for table numbers. They were later recycled into Christmas tree ornaments.

I gotta tell you, Donkey Kong was a bitch. All those little brown beads took forever.

Oh! I almost forgot — I also made these little guys one day when I was home sick and really bored. They didn’t work as a cake topper, since we had more of a fromagey thing, so they just sat on a table. And little brown beads have nothing on individual brown curls. (The white stuff is just some sticky-tack stuff so they wouldn’t fall over. Very classy.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2012 12:43 pm

    your personal touches to your wedding are very lovely =)

  2. June 11, 2012 4:27 pm

    Happy anniversary! Great shawl and other crafts.

  3. June 11, 2012 4:30 pm

    Aww, happy anniversary! My own first anniversary is in two weeks. Hope you guys are doing something special to celebrate. 🙂

  4. June 11, 2012 5:53 pm

    Happy anniversary! Those little figurines are so cute.

    • June 12, 2012 9:15 am

      Thank you! They live in our office now, next to a yellow cab a friend gave us on our honeymoon.

Comments:

