Skip to content

Somber and bright

May 18, 2012

I finished the Color Affection!

I finished on Wednesday, and couldn’t block it because of the aforementioned reception — no place to hide a huge assembly of blocking mats — but after everyone left I got to pin it out. I still think the bind off is a smidge too tight, but it’s not that noticeable when it’s in use, and I’m too lazy to do anything about it now. I still want to make another one, but I’m not ashamed to admit that after those last dozen very long rows, I’m not quite as eager to do it right away.

Last night I also finished a drop stitch scarf which I started in… March, though it feels like much longer. For some reason, knitting it didn’t appeal that much to me, though I love how it looks in this obnoxious yarn, and even though it’s pretty good TV knitting. But it’s done now, and it’s delightfully clown-barfy.

I had almost a full skein left, so I decided to try my hand at improvising a matching hat. I’m not sure right now if it’ll turn out kind of huge, and if I’ll have the energy to frog it and do it over if it is.

Did I say clown barf? Because… clown barf.

The yarn is Loops & Threads Impeccable Ombre; I got it last summer at Michael’s, I think, when we were on our honeymoon in San Diego. We were there with a friend and I tried to control myself but it was calling to me from the other end of the aisle. I’m a sucker for the bright variegateds.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 7:07 am

    Great colors … more gifts for mom? 🙂

    • May 19, 2012 10:46 am

      Hehe, no. The shawl is for me, and the brights are as yet undecided.

      • May 19, 2012 7:45 pm

        I’ve got a couple of projects going on now for others – but the next couple after that are for ME out of sumptuous fibers!

      • May 20, 2012 4:50 pm

        I tend to knit mainly for myself, actually, even if the current WIP is a gift as well.

Comments:

