Skip to content

Pterotactyl

March 7, 2013

Pterotactyl

This is still sitting around waiting to be blocked, but I don’t feel as guilty as I might, because I’m still proud of myself for actually weaving in all those ends pretty much right away. About thirty-five of them.

ends

So many ends. SO MANY ENDS. (And so much just back and forth plain knitting.) But once it’s blocked, I think it’ll be a really nice casual shawl.

The pattern is Pterotactyl, knit up in Cascade Heritage Solids. I wound up short on yarn and just did a few extra rows of purple after the last wedge, but I like the way it looks this way, too.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 3:41 pm

    It looks great! Totally worth all of those ends.

  2. March 7, 2013 5:26 pm

    You should look at a Russian join for stripes – no ends to weave in! It’s my new favourite thing :)

    • March 7, 2013 5:33 pm

      The construction means you have to break the yarn every time you start a new wedge. Trust me, if there’d been a way around the ends, I would have done it.

      • March 9, 2013 6:23 pm

        You can! I just made a stripy shawl with Russian joins :D Once you figure out how much yarn you need to leave for the join, it goes pretty smoothly. You just need to snip off a couple of ends (actually i didn’t even do that yet, since they are hidden by the edge rolling over)!

  3. March 7, 2013 8:04 pm

    Gorgeous! I haven’t seen that pattern before.

  4. March 7, 2013 8:55 pm

    I love my Pterodactyl. I wear it all the time as it’s a perfect size for wrapping myself up in. When it was cold I even wore it wrapped around my head and shoulders over the top of my coat. It was sooooo warm.

  5. March 7, 2013 11:15 pm

    Pretty! I like the color contrast.

  6. March 10, 2013 3:25 am

    The ends are a pain but it does look like a great casual shawl!

Comments:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers