Skip to content

Button button who’s got the button?

January 28, 2013

We went to the flea market yesterday, and one of the things we found was this little tin of buttons. Tin and button together for ten crowns, which is about a buck fifty.

Buttons

I just love old buttons. I don’t knit enough cardigans to justify all the buttons I have — but then again, I have a wide variety and that means I’m prepared for any kind of cardigan I might knit, right?

I rummaged through the jar when I got home, picking out the more interesting buttons. Even just this selection makes this a totally wortwhile purchase, I think.

Pretty buttons

Can’t you just see these on a cream-colored little cardigan?

flowerbuttons

And these roses have a really interesting look.

buttonroses

I think I need to find more vintagey-style patterns to do my vast button collection justice. Or knit a big sweater and sew buttons all over it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2013 3:40 pm

    What a deal! There are some beauties in there!

  2. January 28, 2013 5:32 pm

    That’s awesome! I love the swirly pewter ones, and the stone? shell? ones too. Buttons really are way more fun than is reasonable.

  3. January 28, 2013 7:05 pm

    I too love buttons. Enjoy the possibilities!

  4. January 28, 2013 8:44 pm

    Wow, what a great find!

Comments:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers